Blueberry Streusel Muffins

Ever since I saw these delicious looking blueberry muffins almost a year ago, I have wanted to make them. About a month and a half ago I came across the recipe again and I finally decided to take the plunge and try to make them, but of course I had to go to the store first to get the ingredients. Blueberries were very expensive at the time since they were not in season, so it took me awhile to actually find the best time to make these muffins that would be in favor of my wallet. I love muffins and blueberries so I was ecstatic the day I finally got to make them! Like most muffins, they were easy to put together and baked up beautifully with perfect rounded tops. The cake part is fluffy, moist and not too sweet, the blueberries are juicy, and the raw sugar gives the buttery streusel a wonderful crunch.  Oh, the muffins were just as I hoped they would be, maybe even better.

My picky friends won’t eat these muffins, as they does not like cooked fruit. But, they loves the heck out of any raw fruit, so I guess that makes up for it. But, as much as I love blueberry muffins, I knew that I shouldn’t eat all 12 muffins myself. So, I decided to offer them to the other people that live in my apartment building. I live with rugby players, so I automatically assumed that offering my homemade muffins was a good idea. As I expected, they all loved the muffins and asked when I would make more. I ended up making friends with my neighbor one muffin at a time! This is one of those recipes that are a must make and if you do not have any blueberries on hand, go out and get some.

blueberry-streusel-muffin-5.jpgBlueberry Streusel Muffins

Yield: 12 standard size muffins

Crumb Topping

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 Tbsp granulated sugar
2 1/2 Tbsp chilled butter, diced into small cubes
1 1/2 Tbsp Sugar in the Raw

  1. In the bowl of your food processor: Add 1/3 cup flour, 1 1/2 Tbsp granulated sugar and the cold butter cubes.
  2. Pulse for a few seconds, just until the butter is evenly distributed throughout and the crumbs just come together in tiny crumbles. Note: The crumb mixture should still be fluffy. If you pulse too much, the crumbs become heavy and sink.
  3. Pour the crumb mixture into a small bowl. Mix in 1 1/2 Tbsp raw sugar lightly with your fingers. Set crumb mixture aside.

Muffins

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup granulated sugar
7 Tbsp vegetable oil     (you can measure 1/2 cup, then remove 1 Tbsp)
1/4 cup buttermilk   shake well
1/4 cup sour cream
2 large egg eggs
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries    Washed, dried, and all stems removed

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, add the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. With a wire whisk, mix for ~30 seconds or so. Set the dry ingredients aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add 1 cup granulated sugar, vegetable oil, buttermilk, sour cream and eggs.
  4. With a wire whisk, mix until well blended, ~30 seconds.
  5. Fold the flour mixture into the wet ingredients with a rubber spatula until just combined. Note: the batter should still be a bit lumpy. If you over mix, you will not have fluffy, tender muffins. Who wants that?
  6. Gently fold in the blueberries with a rubber spatula.
  7. With a large ice cream scoop, divide muffin batter evenly into 12 paper lined muffin cups.
  8. Take the the crumb topping, fluff it a bit with your fingers and sprinkle the entire top of each muffin (about 1 tbsp per muffin).
  9. Bake muffins about 18 – 22 minutes, rotating the muffin tin halfway through the baking time, until they are lightly golden and pass the toothpick test.
  10. Cool the muffins several minutes in the pan before removing to wire rack to cool.

Source: Cooking Classy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

